It's time to ramble on…

The thoughts of a young journalist in southeastern Michigan

I’m off to southeast Michigan! (plus a little holiday cheer!)

leave a comment »

It’s been a longstanding joke of mine the last few years every Christmas to ask Santa for an internship. This year, it morphed to “Full-time employment.”

Well, good ol’ Kris Kringle has delivered.

Starting Jan. 10, 2011, I will begin work for Heritage Newspapers in Washtenaw County, Mich., a chain of weekly newspapers covering cities and villages in the Mitten’s southeast, such as Ann Arbor, Ypsilanti, Chelsea, Dexter and Milan.

Half the time, I will be reporting for the Manchester Enterprise, the weekly newspaper for Manchester, a village of more than 2,600 in western Washtenaw County. The other half of the time, I will be working the Internet, doing Web work for the entire chain, such as manage social media sites.

I am stoked at the opportunity, and am looking forward to working in smaller communities that don’t get as much coverage and helping find those great stories every smaller town has. And doing Web work is a very exciting gig, something I would have never envisioned doing when I started college four years ago.

Originally, I had planned on staying in Bay City to continue working at the Times through the spring. Obviously, that will not be happening, and it’s been a great experience compared to what I did in Grand Rapids at the Press. I’ll compile my thoughts on my time there later, there’s a lot to talk about.

I’m thankful at the opportunity to begin at Heritage, and  am looking forward to bringing my ideas and experiences to another area of Michigan. I’ll be sure to keep informing on where it takes me. I’m very excited.

To add to the holiday spirit, I’ll sign off with some cheer: with a video depicting the Nativity through the Internet (my apologies to most people I’m sure that have seen it, I was introduced to it today). Merry Christmas everyone!

Written by David Veselenak

December 22, 2010 at 7:14 pm

Leave a Reply

