It's time to ramble on…

The thoughts of a young journalist in southeastern Michigan

leave a comment »

This is a post I wrote for my workplace’s community media lab, but it’s an interesting application of using the audience as a way to gather news. I thought I’d share it here as well.

Southeast Michigan Media Lab

It’s a line we in journalism still hear all the time: “are bloggers journalists?”

It still boils down to the decade-old argument that can “ordinary citizens” – that is, those not specifically trained in journalism – contribute to the day’s news and perhaps make a difference in reporting, whether through a newspaper or through another medium?

Obviously, this blog and lab serves to answer that question with a “yes,” but still the argument continues among our industry’s brightest minds.

While researching this week, I stumbled across a premiere example of such contribution I thought I’d share that demonstrates the power of community contributions and engagement with local readership.

It’s been no secret in our newsroom I’m a huge Titanic fiend. I read and watch whatever I can about the ocean liner that sunk on its maiden voyage. I have a front page from the Boston Daily Globe from 1912 when…

View original post 266 more words

Written by David Veselenak

April 17, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

